H.E. Anders Fogh Rasmussen

Former NATO Secretary General

HE Anders Fogh Rasmussen served as Secretary General of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) from 2009-2014.

He was Prime Minister of Denmark from 2001 to 2009.

Anders Rasmussen was awarded a Master's Degree in Economics at Aarhus University in 1978 and shortly afterwards was elected to Denmark's Folketing, or parliament, from the Viborg district.

During the 1980s Rasmussen worked his way up through the Liberal Party hierarchy.

He was Minister for Taxation in the Danish Cabinet from 1987 to 1992, adding the title of Minister of Economic Affairs to his portfolio in 1990.

He was the Liberal Party’s national spokesman from 1992 to 1998 and in 1998 he became the Party’s National Chairman.

As Party Chairman, he successfully led the Liberals into Denmark’s 2001 National Elections, which resulted in his becoming Prime Minister. He subsequently won second and third terms in 2005 and 2007 and continued as Prime Minister until 2009. Shortly afterwards he became Secretary General of NATO where he served until October 2014.